Two Boys and the Only Girl just got home from a week spent with Grandmama and Papa.  I never thought I would say this with such enthusiasm but OH My GOSH I am so excited to have some NOISE up in this house again!  Those of you with multiple kids probably understand how unsettling it can be – albeit more peaceful – when all the chickens aren’t under your own roof. 

I had a fabulously long list of things I was going to do while they were all gone.  I didn’t accomplish a single one.  Sew/Embellish The Girl’s plain white curtains to match her comforter?  Still in the package.  Get caught up on laundry?   Significantly lower but still piled.  Pair all the socks in the overflowing, makes-me-twitch, sock basket?  Still digging for a match. Write a book chapter?  Outlined but approximately 500 words away from a suitable conclusion.  BUT, I’m proud to report none of these things got done because Luke and I spent a great deal of time together with Boy Three doing things like fishing, swimming, and eating a slushy-a-day from the new Froggy Freeze stand in town.  {My Homies, if you haven’t been there yet you simply have to try it.  SO yummy and SO cheap.  Need I say more?}

Speaking of fishing, I’m not a fan.  I’m not sure if my being the most impatient person on the planet is a factor or if an aversion to slimy, dead, stinky things is what pushes me over the edge.  Boy Three, arguably the toughest of the bunch, even screams like a girl when he tries to get a fish off the hook and it flips on him.  I don’t consider that a weakness because seriously, anyone  who acts like they enjoy touching all that stuff is flat out lying.  I should clarify by saying that I really do get a kick out of  the catching part, but unless I can reel one in every 3.7 seconds then the ADHD kicks in and I find I need to move on to getting a fresh Diet Dr. Pepper from the cooler or sticking food in the guys’ mouths so they don’t have to touch anything with their grody (how do you spell grody?) hands. 

It’s my angling ministry.

You should know I did catch one fish but it wasn’t without great support staff.   All the credit goes to Luke who took care of all the baiting,  untangled my line from a tree limb, and from that point forward made all my casts  so he wouldn’t have to do it again.  And then – when I hooked a lively 6-incher – got it off the hook and threw him back to swim another day.  He fared better than the other fish who swallowed the hook. Luke had to use the pliers to get it out wreaking havoc on the poor thing’s intestines.  I’ve never been an animal sympathist, but I have to admit I was a little bothered by that whole scene.  Imagine how much better I felt when my fish was barely snagged on the lip.

Whether I personally enjoy fishing or not, the pond one of our church members invited us to use was just beautiful (Thank you, Mr. G), the covered dock a cool shelter from the blazing sun, and a day with two of my favorite guys on earth one I won’t soon forget. 

I might just go again.

As long as I don’t have to touch anything but the snacks. 

Hope y’all have a great weekend filled with doing things you like with those you love! 

Lisa

